Quotes: Group Photos, Italian Streets, and Coffee

“… click goes the camera and on goes life …”

There they are, held like flies in the amber of that moment—click goes the camera and on goes life; the minutes, the days, the years, the decades, taking them further and further from that happiness and promise of youth, from the hopes Aunt Sadie must have had for them, and from the dreams they dreamed for themselves. I often think there is nothing so poignantly sad as old family groups.

– The Pursuit of Love, Nancy Mitford

“… intense Italian lives …”

Narrow little streets branched into narrow little alleyways, and the further he went the darker and narrower they became. By stretching his arms out wide, he could have simultaneously touched the opposing rows of houses, with their large silent windows, behind which, he imagined, mysteriously intense Italian lives lay in slumber. The sense of intimacy made it feel almost an intrusion to have entered these streets at night.

– Journey by Moonlight, Antal Szerb

“… the things that make us even more like ourselves … ”

Why would I wish my senses to be dulled when they could be sharpened? Why would I wish to forget when I could remember? Why would I wish to mumble when I could scintillate? Of course, since even in those days I was a loquacious workaholic who liked to stay up late, you might think I’d pick a drug that would nudge me closer to the center of the bell curve instead of pushing me further out on the edge—but of course I didn’t Who does? Don’t we all just keep doing the things that make us even more like ourselves?

“Coffee,” At Large and At Small, Anne Fadiman

This entry was posted in Books, Links and Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

